Keeping your Wallet and Stomach Full

Sometimes it seems like you have to choose between eating well and saving money but there are plenty of alternatives. The resort that I work at has a cafeteria that offers 3 free meals a day for staff which is a gift from heaven if you are trying to save money. The food is not always the best but there is always salad and fresh veggies so I do manage to get a plateful of greens every meal and whenever possible I make sure I get a serving of lean meat or fish. Even if you don’t have a cafeteria offering 3 free meals a day you can eat healthy on the cheap. I personally try to eat a more paleo-esque diet (i.e. no refined sugar, grains, or dairy) although I don’t really cut back on my dairy since I don’t currently have a good enough source of calcium to make up for it. In short, I fill my plate with fruit, veggies, nuts, seeds, and meat. If you do however eat grains its a great way to save money. By buying dried grains like rice, couscous and quinoa in bulk for very little cost you can save a lot of money and it lasts as long as you choose to keep it. You can use these grains as a base for almost every meal and supplement them with different meats, fish and vegetables. When buying produce it’s always best to buy it in small amounts and often. I know I know, “Buying in bulk is more cost efficient!” but trust me, the money you save by not having to throw out all the produce that goes bad before you manage to eat it greatly outweighs the cost of buying smaller. The longer that fresh produce sits in bins at the market and in your fridge at home the more of its nutrients break down and cease to benefit you so buying often also ensures that you get the freshest fruits and veggies possible. As far as meat and fish goes it is of course always better to buy closer to the source and as close to organic as you can get. Meat and fish can be frozen and stored for later use easily so freshness isn’t usually an issue but like produce it is better to buy in smaller amounts to avoid wasting food and money.
Eating healthy can be simple and cheap, just remember to think naturally and mix up your meals so you get all your vitamins and nutrients. The great think about eating natural, wholesome foods? No need to count calories and your wallet can stay full too!

Leave a comment